Saturday, June 27, 2009

Emotions, Mental whatnot... and cigarettes!

Okay, right now I am sitting at IHOP, but I am writing this without a connection to the web… thanks to basic typing programs.

So in less than a week, I leave for NYC, I am excited, worried, depressed, and happy all at once. It’s a really weird feeling that most of us call nervous. Nervous is something different in my head.

Nervous implies some kind of mental unrest, as in I have some kind of mental block against going or maybe I don’t know how anything is going to work out and I am going down there on a dime and a shoe string… I’ve played that game once, and honestly, I fought the good fight, and I came back to Syracuse because I ran out of money.

I love it in NYC, it’s a great city. There are plenty of good opportunities, there is a lot going on- pretty much any time you want. I have a few friends that still live there, that I have been trying to visit for the past 7 years, but never got to it… now I have the chance and plenty of time to chill.

The semi-shitty thing about this “move” is that I am going to be away from my G/F (that’s girlfriend for the non-savvy). Now… I have done this before, long-distance relationships are pretty hard, in-fact her and I have done this before, so I know exactly what I am getting into, so therefore I expect her to as well… but for some reason I really don’t see much difference between before when we did this and now, but on the other hand, I am not her.

I say semi-shitty because I don’t look at being away from someone you love as horrible, granted, it’s not great, but it’s not the worst thing you could do either. I trust her, so that’s not a problem. I’m pretty sure she trusts me, so I don’t think that’s the problem either. Either way, she is not very happy with my choice, or I know that she doesn’t like the idea because she really didn’t have much play in the situation, but she also knows that the financial bullshit is just adding up too fast for me or her to pull us out of it.

I guess I feel really guilty putting her through this again, but I honestly don’t feel that it is as big of a problem as she does. I sound like an asshole when I put that on paper… wow. I’m not heartless; I think I just deal with the situation differently.

It’s like when my grandfather passed away last year: I was calm and collected, until my cousin Josh read the eulogy, but I held it together fairly well, yeah, I sobbed quietly, and yeah, it was obvious, but I wasn’t a ball of tears in the middle of the ceremony. The only other time that I lost it was when his coffin was lowered into the ground. I had to walk away from the whole funeral party and stare out onto the lake and cry by myself. During that whole month after, I just wanted to push people away, and after a while, I healed, and everything was back to normal. I don’t deal with things the way people expect. I never have, even when I was a small child.

Long-distance relationships are about the same, yeah, I miss the person, but I don’t pine for them, my chest doesn’t hurt with loneliness, I’m just happy to see them when I can, and I try to make the best out of every moment we have together. Saying goodbye sucks a bit, but that’s how life and love are. You just gotta take the good times with the bad.

I will see her every other week; we have to be back up here in Syracuse so Eric can see his child. It’s on average better than what she and I had before. When she lived in CT, and I was here 2 summers back, I saw here anywhere between every 2 to 3 weeks. Unless something goes horribly wrong… this should be it, not too bad if you ask me. This is really the only thing that is even somewhat stressing me out right now. I know where we (Eric and I) will be, the apartment is in a nice area, 105th and Riverside Drive. I’m not going to give my exact address, but it’s close to there. For a little while I will be sleeping on an air mattress, but I will get a futon within a few weeks, maybe a desk or something, who knows. Little things like that don’t bother me that much, I know exactly what to expect when I get there, I used to live there… no big deal. The first couple months are set for rent and shit. And for a little while, all I gotta worry about is getting a little bit of food in me, havin’ smokes (which I have a solution for… more on this shortly), and some cash in my pocket (not a lot, because I will be sending most back up here).

Okay, so as everyone knows that actually reads this blog… (the few, the proud, my readers!) I smoke, and I have for years… I’m 27 now, I started smoking when I was 16… 11 years now… wow, anyway—I found a really cool “alternative”, actually Raven (my G/F) found it. I had only really briefly heard about the concept, and I tried something like it a while ago… the electronic cigarette. Anyway, what I tried, was not quite electronic, it was just… different, and I think somehow “better” for you, they don’t sell them anymore I don’t think, but basically they just had a heating element in them, and only ashed ¼ of an inch off the end of the cigarette, I don’t remember what they were called, but they tasted really funny… anyway, what Raven found is indeed a true electronic cigarette. I am stating now that this is in no manner a commercial; you can go to their site yourself. The company is called “Blu” (www.blucigs.com), I looked a little into it, and it seems that it is a pretty dirt cheap alternative that also seems that it is better for you as well. There is a chance of nicotine poisoning, but that is because people don’t know when to stop smoking the thing… it blinks 10 times or something like that to let you know you are over using it. For the rate that I smoke (which is about 1/3 of a pack per day) this works out really well, I will probably get a month out of a “carton”, maybe less, because I can “smoke” more, and who knows if I will or not. There are other companies out there, like smokeeverywhere (or something along those lines) but I like the blu company better because they don’t really make any solid CLAIMS about health benefits or other shit, and they have their “pack” that charges the batteries… the reason I bother to mention this, is that I know that I have a few random readers from time to time, and I really would like to know a little more about this before I spend 60 bucks on the starter kit, and I also want to tell the few random readers that there is something else other than “traditional” cigarettes, and hell, if it saves ya a couple bucks… good for you, and who knows, this indeed could be healthier. SO… random and non-random readers… PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT if you have tried this product or not, or send me an email or something… I really do want to know, good things and bad things.

I probably will be spending the money anyway, primarily because cigs in NYC are like 9-10 bucks a pack, and frankly even though my job will be paying me more, I don’t want to be spending the difference on smokes! You will have a little bit of time to respond, because I will be taking a few packs with me, and probably will be ordering them within the first few weeks, so please, if you have some experience with BLU, let me know ASAP.

Okay… so I know that was lengthy, but I am honestly all for making it cheaper for me and potentially healthier (at least a little). **RAPID SUBJECT CHANGE**


So I really can’t explain my emotions right now, I’m giddy about going back to some old stomping grounds, but I feel like I’m being a prick to not only my G/F but some family members, I’ll be back every other weekend, so it’s not too bad… and time away from Syracuse is never a bad thing, don’t get me wrong, I love it here, but sometimes old memories really need to stay OLD memories… nothing bad, I just don’t like constantly re-living the past. I come to IHOP because it’s a long standing tradition, but sometimes I just get caught up in things, and how they used to be…

I also think some time separated from almost everyone won’t be a bad thing. Being alone, helps me get collected, mentally, emotionally and sometimes even physically.

Well, I think that’s gonna be it from me for now. I’ll post this at my earliest convenience.

See ya later!

Monday, June 01, 2009

... still here... for another 13 days

Okay, so last time we left off at me going to NYC and being nervous and such of that sort...

Right, so I am still a little nervous, but I am seriously looking forward to the 12th/13th... that will be the day that Eric and i go down. I got a lot of my bills squared, at least pushed back far enough to where it won't be a problem putting my bank acct. negative.

Gary has located 2 places, one is on 86th and the other is on 101st (or something along those lines). both are pet friendly... so I won't have to worry about raven taking care of the dog, or anyone else for that matter. Both are also walk-ups, but no higher than the 3rd floor... so I'm down with that.

I haven't really figured out what I am going to sleep on, but I have slept on dirty clothes for extended periods of time, so I should be ok :-p.

The shit end of the stick, is that I haven't had the time to really talk to my family about this... not that there is really anything they can say to stop me at this point, but they need to know that I will be all set, and I won't be in Syracuse for a bit.... not that it really affects much, but I would rather have them know now, than later... ill have to talk to everyone for a bit.

Most of my friends know now, and considering I really only see most of them during the weekend anyway, it should be all good, at least they are all understanding that i need this more for the money than anything else... and hey, if i get some awesome job offer... i'm down... darn, salary... darn... insurance... darn.... spending money... please, please stop me now..... NOT!

If all else fails, I can say this: "it was a good time... I made a few bucks to make things easier for a sort while, and carried myself through the hard part of the summer...". I really think that I will be able to make this work for me, and who knows, i could meet some really cool people this way... maybe one of them would like to give me a salary... and I could even do the job i am about to go down to NYC for, part time... that would be pretty slick.

At this point, I am really excited... as I think i should be, and yes, I am still a little worried, but at this point, I am not as worried as a couple weeks ago. A few things went my way, and I should be doing at least OK for the trip down....

Anywho, that's it for now... I just gotta find a good way to tell my family.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

There and Back again....

Yes, that was a blatant reference from LOTR... moving along.

Yeah, so here we go. I have an opportunity that I am really not totally sure about, but I am going to make the best of it.

I am basically going to be going on a "contract-to-hire" basis, working with Eric (my roommate) and Gary (another good guy that lived with me for a bit, and has known Eric for a while). I will be a glorified secretary... and by glorified, I mean, not only taking calls, making appointments, and responding to/with emails... but I will also be updating a few websites, and doing PDA/Blackberry support and a little implementation here and there. The two of them, plus this other person (of whom I do not know at this moment), are going to be leasing apartments (with a leasing company), and my job will be basically be on their back-end, supporting their needs, which honestly, I am totally okay with. I get paid $10/hour, and I get commission from what they get leased (which is loosely based on the website adds I update/post), my commission is a sliding scale that actually makes sense, and I get to telecommute most days... which means I chill behind my desk, at home, in my boxer shorts, and do my job. Every now and then they may need me to come out and show an apartment for them (which i will probably be entitled to a little more if it gets leased). Now, all this sounds cool right? It gets slightly better... I am going to be able to see what EVERYONE makes because I will be the one in charge of the "books". Cooler right?

And now... for the explanation of the title....

This job is in NYC. 

This is not a bad thing, it does bring back a few bad memories... but those are all because of me... gotta do what ya gotta do right?

I am obligated to be there at least 3 months... which works out okay, because if i need to cut-bait and get the hell out, I can do so before things get too horrible. There are some immediate draw backs... like the fact that my G/F will have to stay here for a bit, mainly because of the fact that I will have to have a small apartment, the other fact, is that she is anchored (loosely) by her job. The upside to that is I will be home at a minimum of every other weekend... doable.

She is worried about a lot of things, which I can understand completely. However she has not seen what I went through to get as far as I have thus far.... I know when to leave if I have to.

There are some fears I have too... one of which is, am I going to be able to make enough money to support the things I need to. The numbers line up fairly well, I am going to be staying pretty busy, but if something goes wrong, I do have a back up, which is basically, BAIL, but If shit happens too fast, will I have enough time? will I be able to get out when I need to? I am secure with Radioshack... but if I get myself into enough trouble, I may not be able to pull back out.... I got a lot of bills right now, and the reason I am going down there to make enough money to pay the bills off up here, and not to acquire enough down there to put me back in the same place.

In all theory, I should be good, the only real bills that will start down there for me is rent, power, food and metro card. rent is split 3 ways, power is split 3 ways, food is my own and metro card is my own... provided we get a cheap place (which is being worked on every day until we are ready to leave) we should be generally good to go... I am only going to bring my laptop, at least at first.

I dunno, not planning on any commission checks, things are tight, but still less tight than me being up here... there are just too many variables right now to figure out though... I don't know the costs of things.

I miss the city, but I made myself a promise... that I am breaking... that I would not go back down to NYC unless I had a solid means to support myself (like $50,000 a year). In all technicality, this job has the potential, not to mention I could just run across something really sweet whilst I'm there... the networking capabilities down there are limitless.

I guess that's it for now... I'll keep ya posted.
as of right now, my last day in the 'Cuse (Syracuse that is!) is June 15th... a week before my B'day.


Tuesday, April 07, 2009

Interesting updates

So yeah, I know that there are not a lot of followers to this blog and that it is mainly a place for me to rant... but as far as the situation goes... its almost identical to last year.... which is kinda fucked up, but hey... still relying on RadioShack for money, which is really, REALLY pissing me off right now.

I graduated from ITT with my Associates degree finally (this was in December of 08), and I graduated salutatorian. so now maybe its a little understandable why i am pissed.

There have been a lot of little things that have come up for opportunities for career advancement, but none of them except for 2 looked promising... both of which i am still pursuing. One change from last year, is that I finally got myself onto twitter... which you can now see to the right (you can look right now if you want), its right below my picture for the moment...

Anyway, I am going to try to post more often. there is a lot of shit going on, and i have been really REALLY busy, so you'll have to pardon me. I don't have a lot of time where i can sit down and think about nothing... oh, shit, i wanted to fix my Linux box.... well, off i go for now...

Monday, January 28, 2008

Here we go again.....

Everything right now is starting to look more and more like New York City to me...

When I was in NYC, I didn't live there... I SURVIVED there. I ate shoe strings for breakfast, maybe got a cup of coffee... then maybe ate lunch depending on if I was working that day or just going to class. Then had a good ole' bucket o' ramen for dinner... yummy. This sounds appetizing I know... but ya know what's funny, the food is better this time, but the bills are worse.

Rent, Power, Cell, Cable (internet and such), Car Insurance, Back Debt, and things that are becoming back debt.... awesome.

it just seems to get so overwhelming sometimes

Saturday, January 12, 2008

More Updates....

updates updates updates.... I'm sure everyone needs this:

Ok, ok, so here is some more information for you people out there that actually read this...

So on the whole "new" girlfriend front... the only reason that new is in "" is because, well
it has been so long since I wrote in this that it is no longer a new thing...

Anyway, the name she goes by is Raven (yes as in the bird). Things have been going okay in that world... the only reason it is not fantastic is because everyone for the past few months has been far too stressed out. Other than that things are fine there. She breathes fire (one of the few female fire breathers on the east coast... but she also juggles and does other pretty awesome shit with it) and does all kinds of other nifty shit. Quite a talented lady I would say :-P. There is a lot more to say, but honestly it really is hard to put the connection we have into words.

So I believe I stated last time that Eric (aka Rocky) is my roommate now... which is good... he really needed to get out of his grandmother's house... his mother's side of the family is just messed up in ways that not many would really understand.... if not, well now ya know.

His current squeeze Amy is pretty cool, she stays here a lot. Some of the funniest shit comes out of her mouth.

The servers I have are still down... I got no money to pay the power bill so I am not going to try to make it worse on that front. As much as it pains me, just turning one on for a few hours is a few dollars that I really don't have.... but I'll get there eventually.

------------------

Things more recently have become more complicated.
- Eric has lost a lot of hours at work (still doing construction with our boss that we had over the summer)

- Eric's ex-wife is being a twat (yes, I am using that word as strong as it is implied) with child support and other things of that matter, making his life an absolute living hell... I feel bad for the shit he has to deal with... no, that is not pity, I just don't understand why she is doing it to him... she is still one of my friends, I knew her briefly in HS, and I lived with them when I was in NYC for a bit

- Raven's job is not steady enough to really provide any cash to the "house" fund.

- My job is just pissing me off... I really didn't want to have to rely on Radioshack... it just bugs me...BTW, Steve... I still love ya man, you were the only Radioshack manager that I would leave the company if you left... and I mean that.

- I have found other jobs more recently... possibly something in my field... the pay is okay .... one of the jobs is just building/repairing computers (the name of the place is called Seneca Data). Its fairly mindless from the description I got, but even still its at least something kinda nifty and the pay is right.... I just may do it, i have a few more things to think about before I make a jump like that... but I really need something more steady, NOT dealing with customers for a while. I just dont want to leave my current manager in a ridiculously hard place and I want to give as much notice as possible... i dunno... its hard to really figure out what I should do, but ultimately the decision is mine to make and I have to be concerned with my own well being... and everyone in the rest of my house.

... that pretty much sums things up for right now..
i suppose.

maybe more later

==Chevelle - Straight Jacket Fashon==
Currently playing in the background

I haven't given up yet...

So yeah, there have been quite a few things going on in my life right now... and there have been some changes...

The apartment I was going to move into, kinda fell through, but now I am in a different place... on
Tipperary hill, the most Irish part of Syracuse, for those who are not familiar with the area. Which honestly is quite nice, and has come back in more recent years. I lived in this area when I was very young, one street over from where I am now.

I'm still working at the same radioshack I went to at the beginning of the summer... though I have stopped the landscaping (and construction in the winter), due to stress and lack of hours... so I took on more hours at the shack.

I have also started going back to school, at ITT Technical... I really want that fucking piece of paper. I'm doing well in classes so far (we are on week 4/5 of I think 12).

I am actually getting days off during the week, this is a plus.

But i'm still stressed...
too stressed, even for me....
I dunno, I can't tell you how many times I just feel like letting go of the steering wheel sometimes when I drive... just to see what would actually happen.... but the sad part is, that I know what would happen...

A- IF i live... which I probably would *unless I went off a cliff or something*
- I would have an ASS-LOAD of medical bills that would probably never get paid off...
- I would have my family questioning my mental stability (as if they don't by now)
- I would have to spend more time out of school
- I would probably be in a wheelchair or something like that.. just from the number of injuries
- I would also have people bending over backwards trying to help me... fuck off... I got this

B- IF i were to die...
- I would never fucking rest... EVER
- I'd probably have to deal with all the pain of watching over my family... and their sorrow... yadayadayada... yeah NO.
- When some of my family did finally reach me... that'd be great to explain huh? and I couldn't even have an excuse like... "its a long story" cuz its fucking eternity.... ya got nothing but time.

I don't like those results...
hmmm... onward to next thought....

I wonder if it is possible to elminate most of the stress in life with money... I hope so.
that could be a semi-attainable goal.... no bills, no stress there.... everything else is easier (or at least coming from only one or two places). Shit, if I didn't have any bills to worry about, things would be VERY different:

**ENTER DREAM SEQUENCE MUSIC** (ya know like wayne's world)

Matt comes home from work... sits down, and enjoy's his evening with his roommates and girlfriend... knowing all bills are paid, has a full (or at least semi-full) tank of gas, and a very healthy and fast computer. He then turns on the TV for a little while, enjoys a movie, maybe some interesting tv show, sits in front of the 'puter for a bit, has a meal, has some intimate time, and then goes to sleep..... goes to work, and somewhat enjoy's it... goes to leave...forgets the bad moments of the day, and goes home... repeat from top 5 out of 7 days per week.

**EXIT DREAM SEQUENCE MUSIC**

yeah, see, is that so hard... what the fuck, I don't want a lot... just to be comfortable... I don't need retarded amounts of stuff, every cool little toy on the market, or cutting edge comptuer equipment in my apartment (though it would be nice, but not necessary).

I guess I gotta try harder... be more of a man, get a harder working job so I can afford those things....

yeah... im sure... then what...
... this is where most people get greedy, when they are comfortable... its all one big fuckin pattern, then they loose it all... just like at the casino's. Everyone says "nope, if I won (insert x amount of) dollars I'd walk away from the table". I hate to break it to you, but the fact of the matter stands... its a different situation once you have the chips/cash/whatever in your hands....

I guess its a paradox I am striving to be comfortable... but once I get there, there will be a new level of comfort I want.... maybe... I'm not really sure... I have had very few times in my life where I was actually comfortable, I really don't honestly know what it is like.

I guess it would take a LOT of money in one HUGE lump sum to really make that happen.... mega millions? (NYS Lottery)

God the list I could make just of the things I would do with that kind of cash....
(I'll make a generalized one for length reasons)

- Pay off all bills of mine, my girlfriend Raven's, Parents, and closer friends... I would also help out a few of my really close friends that are either getting married or having children a little more than a few others.
- Hand the deed of my Mom's house to Mom and Gary (they still got another 20 years on their mortgage I think).
- Give both of my parents money for my younger siblings to go to college with.
- Buy a place to put my 1979 Cougar, and soup-up little Svetty (my 91 saab) to do some pretty cool shit (turbo anyone?).
- Get some nifty computer upgrades and a nice desk/computer area.
- CONTINUE TO LIVE IN THE SAME PLACE
- Hire 2 people... one to clean my house now and again (no live in people would be necessary) and the other to invest my money and help out charities....

And here's the kicker... all the things I would do before I put all the money in the bank/investments would probably only amount to $500,000 (or maybe slightly more)... the investments I would live off of the rest of my life... and yes, I would
- Finish School
- WORK until I was much older
- be WISE with the money
- Pay it forward (see movie of the same title... great flick... kinda sad)

well out I go for a smoke... I'll probably finish the "updates" post at some point in time.... I apologize for that....

for those that may actually care.


Matt-